Fulbrighter of the Year event

Earlier this week I was graciously invited to attend the Fulbrighter of the Year event at the Museo de Jade here in San Jose, Costa Rica. The event was held to honor Dra. Sonia Marta Mora, who is the Ministra de Educación in Costa Rica, and completed a Fulbright in Pittsburgh several years ago. I arrived to the event a few minutes late, and was ushered in to an auditorium by some of the folks at the U.S. Embassy because the President was to enter last. I wasn’t sure who they were referring to, and thought perhaps it was to the President of the Fulbright Association in Costa Rica. To my surprise, after taking my seat in the auditorium the President of Costa Rica himself entered the room!

The presentation of the award was very lovely, with the US Ambassador and Costa Rican President both making remarks. President Luis Guillermo Solis was himself a two time Fulbrighter and Ambassador Haney knew Senator Fulbright personally. Dra. Sonia Marta Mora also shared some words on her experiences, and it was inspiring to hear how Fulbright had provided so many opportunities to so many people. At the end of the ceremony all of the Costa Rican Fulbright alumni gathered for a picture and I was invited to jump in too.

002-fulbright-sonia-marta-mora
Costa Rican Fulbright alumni

 

Following the ceremony, there was a reception in the hall with some light snacks and drinks. Some of the ladies from the Embassy helped me to meet President Solis, and it was such an amazing encounter. We chatted for a few minutes on my Fulbright project, and he seemed genuinely interested in my work. I feel privileged to have had this unexpected opportunity, and it inspired me to truly make the best of my time down here by giving back to the wonderful country of Costa Rica.

026-fulbright-sonia-marta-mora
Meeting el Presidente!

 

027-fulbright-sonia-marta-mora
Taking a second for a posed shot with President Solis

Leave a comment